aww… he got the velcros.

My shoe came untied. I was picking up dinner and of course had my hands full (carryout in one hand, 25 lb purse over my shoulder, and cell phone in the other hand, not in my purse– as if I get 85 calls each hour). I thought about kicking the laces around until I made it to the car, but I imagined myself dropping the food, my purse spilling, my hands getting scraped on the sidewalk… but not dropping my phone (because I would of course be on phone call #86). I stopped to tie my shoe and had an interesting thought… isn’t it funny that we still use laces to tie our shoes? I mean, have we not evolved past string?!

Cue the background music. My mind immediately went to one of my new favs, Thrift ShopAww… he got the velcros.

What happened to velcros? Isn’t that like a genius invention that allows the wearer to never need to drop her food, spill her purse, or ignore call #87? Why aren’t velcros cool? Don’t get me wrong… I’m not bringing them back anytime soon, but why aren’t they cool?

What other invention is genius, but just doesn’t stick? (get it, ‘stick’? like velcros sticks?!)

classy.

what's your view?

